Bread – no knead!

February 23, 2014 § Leave a comment

Want to impress your friends?  Make homemade artisanal bread that looks like you spent $5 on it, but cost you less than 25¢.  And make it without any fuss – yes, there is no kneading here.  Thanks to Larina for this recipe – I had always used the Cook’s Illustrated ‘almost no-knead bread’, but always burned the bottom.  For some reason, this recipe works – perhaps it’s because it requires bread flour (I always used all-purpose before)?  Anyway, make this for your next dinner party.

Tastes best spread with homemade butter. Oh yeah.

Mmm, fancy carbs...

Mmm, fancy carbs…

*Note: you need a dutch oven with a lid for this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups bread flour*
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp table salt
  • 1.5 cups warm water

*Do NOT be tempted to use all-purpose flour, or to even substitute a part of it.  Last night I went to make this bread, and realized I only had 2 cups of bread flour.  So I used all-purpose flour for the last cup.  Unmitigated disaster.  The texture was wrong (gloopy) so I kept adding flour, still never got right, but I thought – why not let it raise overnight anyway.  I the morning it was still a sloppy loose mess – night and day from when I make it using all bread flour.  I didn’t even attempt to bake it.  If this happens again, I’ll just see what happens if I scale all the ingredients down and make a smaller loaf…

Directions

  1. Whisk flour, yeast, and salt together in a large bowl (remember, this is going to rise and double in size).  I use the bowl that comes with my standing mixer.  Add the warm water. Stir with a wooden spoon to mix.  Make sure all flour is mixed in.  It will be shaggy and loose.  I couldn’t help myself from poking it a bit, just to get all the flour worked in.
  2. Cover tightly with plastic wrap, and set in a warm place.  Let rise for 12-18 hours.  My first time I let them go for about 18 hours. photo (9)
  3. Now you bake.  Put your dutch oven with lid in the oven before you turn it on.  Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F for at least half an hour.  Meanwhile, scrape the risen dough from the bowl onto a heavily floured surface.  The dough will still be very sticky. With floured hands,  shape the dough into a round loaf, making sure there’s enough flour on the surface so dough doesn’t stick.  Let the dough rest until the dutch oven is preheated.
  4. Take the dutch oven from the oven and gently place the dough into the dutch oven. Cover with the lid and return to the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Then, remove the lid and return the dutch oven to the oven for another 10-15 minutes. Gently tip the loaf onto a cooling rack.  Let cool.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bread – no knead! at we cook and drink together..

meta

