Pumpkin pie with a twist

November 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

Pumpkin pie gets a bad rap, at least in my family.  Yet it’s still required fare for Thanksgiving, so that’s what I’m bringing.  However, because no one really likes it, I decided to mess with the filling, obvs.  Based on my recent vodka pie crust experience, however, I decided to go with the tried and true Pillsbury crust for this one (why mess with perfection?).  Behold:

Pumpkin marscapone pie

Pumpkin marscarpone pie

It was good – as good as pumpkin pie can be, and has a slightly unusual ingredient – marscarpone.  Also, my pie included an ‘interesting’ spice blend due to last minute spice emergency, and the fact that grocery stores aren’t open on Thanksgiving (WHAT?!?  Are they staying home with their families or something?!).  Yeah – my ground ginger was OLD.  I’m guessing 4 years.  So… not so fresh.  Frantic googling suggested substituting with cardamom, which sounded fine with me, but fearing disaster I decided to split the baby and do some cardamom, some ginger….

RECIPE (adapted due to spice debacle from here, and because I just realized I put WAY too much pumpkin in – I put the whole can of Libby’s, when the original called for 1 cup – oops)

Ingredients

Crust: buy an unbaked one.  I recommend Pillsbury’s, you get two in  pack (so you could make a pie with a lid, so to speak.  You’ll only use one for this recipe, so use the other to make a quiche or something).  Line a 9-inch pie tin with the crust, and put it in the fridge while you make the filling.

Filling

  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin [oops, I used a 14-oz can of Libby’s, which is like 1.5+ cups pumpkin, but it seemed fine]
  • 1 cup (packed) brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger [I used about 3/4 tsp old ginger, 1/4 tsp cardamom]
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 8-ounce container mascarpone cheese

Directions

Using electric mixer, beat pumpkin and sugar in large bowl until well blended. Add eggs and next 7 ingredients and beat until blended. Add mascarpone cheese and beat just until mixture is smooth. Transfer filling to prepared crust.

Bake pie until custard is set, about 55 minutes. Transfer pie to rack and cool. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Tent with foil and chill.  [Note: mine only took 45 minutes to bake because I used a 10-inch pie tin – this recipe SHOULD be made in a 9-inch tin]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin pie with a twist at we cook and drink together..

meta

