Maple pecan twist bread (cinnamon roll bread)

September 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

Well, I went against my own advice and decided to make an UNTESTED recipe to bring to a brunch party.  Did it turn out?

Bootiful!

I think so!  I overbaked it by a couple minutes, so in that sense I was a bit disappointed – but if slightly softer I think it would be dynamite, so I will definitely be giving it another try.

 

RECIPE (mildly adapted from here)

Ingredients

  • 250g packet white bread mix (NOTE: this is a UK thing – I had to, in the infamous words of Tim Gunn, ‘make it work.’  So  I bought Fleischmann’s brand white bread mix (it comes in a 400 gram packet).  It comes with bread mix and a separate packet of yeast.  So, I dumped ALL the mix in a big bowl, added the yeast, stirred it all together, and THEN measured 250 grams of that)
  • 150 mL warm water (NOT hot, or you’ll kill the yeast)
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • flour, for dusting
  • 5 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup pecans, finely chopped
  • 2-3 Tbsp maple syrup, to glaze

Destructions

  1. Mix the bread mix and sugar with 150ml lukewarm water.  It will be stickier than heck.  Before you start kneading, spray your hands with cooking spray, or else you will be covered in goo.  Knead for 10 minutes on a lightly floured surface.  It’ll be super sticky for a bit, then will come together, resist the urge to add more flour.  [I actually got frustrated and went to go check my email for a few minutes; this is when I had the genius idea to oil my hands, and when I came back it was much easier to work.  Don’t know if it was the oil, or the wait.]   You will think the dough ball is too small, but don’t worry!  Yeast is magic!
  2. Cover and leave to rise in a warm place for 1 hour or until doubled in size.  [To me, a ‘warm place’ means ‘oven.’  I always do this.  Basically, before I start ANYTHING I turn the oven on to ‘warm’ or 200 degrees, depending on how big a hurry I’m in – bigger hurry = hotter temp.  Then I start making the bread.  When I’m about halfway through kneading, I turn the oven off.  The result?  A big warm, but not hot, box to put your dough in to rise.]
  3. Mix the butter, sugar and cinnamon in a bowl.  Once dough is risen, punch down the dough onto a floured surface and roll into a rectangle, about 16 x 10 inches. Spread the butter over it and sprinkle with pecans. Roll the dough up like a Swiss roll from the long side [meaning: you want to end up with a 16 inch long tube].
  4. Cut the dough in half down the length [so you have two 16-inch long half tubes]. Lay the 2 lengths cut-side up side by side [parallel, next to each other] and twist to make a twisted rope (like, a 2-stranded braid, not actual wringing/twisting; I kept open/nut side up since it looked prettier that way). Pull both ends together to make about a ring about 8 inches in diameter.  Leave to rise in a warm place for 30 minutes or until doubled in size.  [Again, warm oven.] 
  5. [Once risen, remove from oven] and heat the oven to 340 degrees (dare to do 350!).  Bake in the oven for 25 minutes until golden and risen [25 minutes was a bit too long – I should have taken it out sooner.  Check after 20 minutes]. While warm, brush with the maple syrup, then leave to cool before serving.

IMG_2388

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maple pecan twist bread (cinnamon roll bread) at we cook and drink together..

meta

