Who knew I liked Egg Salad???

April 7, 2013 § 1 Comment

Since Nick is traveling out of town I get to experiment with things involving Nick’s nemeses, like mayo and mustard. That in combination with a bunch of dyed Easter eggs had me question whether or not I like Egg Salad. Apparently I kind of do, but granted it could be the avocado. I love avocado. So I probably won’t go trying it at random diners, but I might make this every now and again. Super delicious.

The Stuff
10 hard-boiled egg whites
2 hard-boiled egg yolks (although I felt badly about throwing away all the yolks, so I used a couple more)
1 avocado, 1/2 mashed, 1/2 roughly chopped
2 tablespoon(s) light mayonnaise
1 teaspoon(s) Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon(s) freshly squeezed lemon juice
Coarse salt
Freshly ground pepper
12 slice(s) white sandwich bread (or whatever bread you want), toasted
Boston lettuce (optional)
Arugula (optional)
Tomato slices (optional)
Bacon (I didn’t add this but think it would decidedly sway me on to team egg salad even more!)

The Steps
1. Mash up the eggs and half of the avocado with a fork (or as Martha suggests, with a pastry blender, which I can’t pretend to know what it is) in a bowl

2. Fold in the rest of the chopped avocado

3. Stir in mayo, Dijon, lemon juice and season with salt and pepper

4. Put on some bread and eat.

Recipe as is should make ~6 sandwiches.

To be fair I didn’t have 10 eggs leftover from Easter dyeing so I used about 7 and mostly eyeballed stuff, which I’m sure that’s what Martha does anyway. Since this is supposedly her “favorite,” we can defer to her methodology.

20130407-224453.jpg

§ One Response to Who knew I liked Egg Salad???

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who knew I liked Egg Salad??? at we cook and drink together..

meta

