Overnight oats

November 10, 2012 § 2 Comments

So, true story: my cholesterol is high.

Like, higher than a 70-year old obese, sedentary smoker.  So, I’m putting on my big-girl pants and making some lifestyle changes (obviously they started after the pumpkin bread french toast fiasco).  My lifestyle changes fall into two categories: easy, and hard.  Eating oatmeal for breakfast falls into the easy category because I’ve jumped on the Pinterest bandwagon and started making overnight oatmeal.  SO easy: I just make it before I go to bed, then grab from the fridge on my way to work.  By the time I get there and settle in to my desk, the oats are room temperature and, I must say, quite good!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled/old fashioned oats (not quick oats)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup light (or fat free, if you’re into that kind of thing) greek yogurt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • tiny bit of honey
  • Add ins: chia seeds, blueberries, jam?

    Terrible photo of overnight oats

Mix everything together in a container that can be tightly sealed (I use an old jam jar).  Put in the fridge overnight.  Done!

Feel free to fancy it up with more spices, or with fruit, I might try adding frozen wild blueberries when I get back to the US, as they do not have them here?!?! I’m also considering adding in some of the left-over pumpkin puree I have kicking about…

§ 2 Responses to Overnight oats

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Overnight oats at we cook and drink together..

meta

