Basil pesto

August 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

Mmm, nothing says ‘summer’ more than piles of fresh basil.  This is so easy to make and tastes so. much. better. than anything that comes in a jar.  Does not compare.  Also – shocker – this version I made last night does not have cheese in it.  I know I know.  Normally my pesto has equal parts nuts and parmesan, but as I went to make this last night I realized with a *gasp* that I was out of parmesan.  How did that happen?  Rather than trek to the grocery store I decided to make it anyway and see what happened – and I must say I think I prefer this cheese-free version!  Look ma, it’s VEGAN! 

Basil pesto without cheese

Ingredients

  • 2 c. fresh basil, washed and dried
  • 1 c nuts.  Pesto is traditionally made with pine nuts, but they’re so expensive I usually use a blend.  This time I used a blend of half pine nuts, half almonds.  Walnuts also work well.
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped (or pressed)
  • Olive oil – I never measure this, I just use enough til it’s a consistency I like.  I would estimate I used 1/3  cup for this batch (I like my pesto thick; if you like it more runny, add more oil).
  • couple grinds of black pepper

Instructions

  • Chuck everything in the food processor, blitz, the end!

(Normally I put the basil, nuts, and garlic in together first and process about 15 seconds.   Then I add the olive oil and pepper and process again until as smooth as I want it, adding more oil if necessary.)

(If you want to make a version with cheese, add in 3/4 cup grated parmesan and 1/4 cup grated romano, and double the amount of olive oil.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Basil pesto at we cook and drink together..

meta

