Almond poppyseed muffins

April 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hmm, what can I do when it’s raining…?  Make and eat food!  (This plan needs to change now that it seems to rain every. single. day.)

I whipped these muffins up in advance of a visit from my landlord – nothing shouts “I swear I’m taking care of the place!” liked freshy baked goodies.  These come together VERY quickly and are a simple, delicious treat.  Mmmm.  I had one for breakfast with some greek yogurt and fresh raspberries!

Let’s go!

Ingredients.  Recipe makes 12 muffins.

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup greek yogurt (or plain whole-milk)
  • 1 scant cup sugar (I sometimes only use 3/4 c)
  • 3 eggs (I’ve made it with 2 just fine, feel free to use fancy pastel-colored eggs like me [they had blue shells!])
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup poppy seeds (could also use 1 c. dried cherries, or chocolate chips (or a mix, as I did recently)!).  NOTE:  they only sell white poppy seeds at my local grocery!  Weird!
  • Sliced almonds for garnish

Steps

  1. Heat oven to 350 F (or ~175 C).
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt together.
  3. In a separate, large bowl, mix yogurt, sugar, eggs, almond extract, and vegetable oil together.
  4. Add flour mixture to yogurt/egg mixture and stir until just combined.
  5. Dump in poppy seeds (or dried cherries/choc chips, whatever).  Stir until evenly distributed.
6. Pour into lined muffin tin, top with sliced almonds, and bake for approximately 25 minutes (start checking at 25 minutes) – I use a convection oven, which should bake faster, and it takes about 22 minutes.
YUM!
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almond poppyseed muffins at we cook and drink together..

meta

