Banana “ice cream”

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

So I was playing on the internet and I found an article about putting frozen banana in a food processor and eating it like ice cream.   http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/stay-cool/how-to-make-creamy-ice-cream-with-just-one-ingredient-093414

Not one to believe that healthy things can be easy or delicious, I decided to try it, mainly so that I could confirm its grossness and pat my cynical self on the back.

Huh.  It was amazing.  I didn’t even take photos of it because I forgot – I was that swept away by it.  Sure it requires a teeny bit of planning (you know, chopping up a banana and freezing it), but it is SO good.  I added a few walnuts.  I eat it for breakfast or dessert if I need something sweet.

Directions

1.  Chop up some ripe bananas into medallions (if you will) and freeze them.  Doesn’t matter if they’re spotty, since you’re just gonna chuck them in a food processor later and blend the bejeezus out of them.

2.  Once fully frozen, take out about one bananas worth (or more) and chuck it in a food processor and blend the bejeezus out of it (maybe a minute to get it really smooth).

3.  Marvel at how easy that was, and enjoy.  I have it on good authority that it also tastes good with a few tiny pieces of dark chocolate.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Banana “ice cream” at we cook and drink together..

meta

