Banana chocolate chunk walnut muffins

April 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

Sweet fancy Moses these are good.  I made 12 muffins and opted (foolishly) to put dark chocolate chunks in only 4 of them.  I am 66% sad.  The recipe below was adapted from an epicurious.com banana bread recipe.

Don’t be fooled.  These are not like normal banana bread (which I always think of as slightly banana flavored cake).  These are  bananas with a little bit of muffin.   They are super banana-y.  Bananatastic if you will.  And because my patented hand smooshing technique left some larger banana pieces in the batter, there are really nice banana chunks that make the muffins super moist and delicious (note: they tend to sink to the bottom).

Ingredients

  • 4-5 ripe bananas (I used 5 to make them bananatastic)
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar (original recipe called for a whole cup, but that would have made it sickly sweet considering how ripe my bananas were)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • walnuts
  • chocolate (I chopped up part of a dark chocolate bar and pressed the pieces into a few muffins.  Kicking myself I didn’t chop the whole thing and dump it all in the batter)
  •  

    Directions

    1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
    2. Cut up the bananas and put them in a big bowl.  Bigger the better.  Mush them.  I don’t have a potato masher, so I squished them with my hands.  Fun!
    3. Dump all the other ingredients in the bowl and stir until batter comes together.  I added everything but the flour, stirred, then added the flour and stirred.  This was my attempt to pretend I somewhat understand baking chemistry and not form too much gluten.  Or something.
    4. Line your muffin tin, then fill the 12 muffin liners.  If you didn’t mix the chocolate or nuts directly into the batter, now is the time to press nuts and chocolate into muffins at random.
    5. Bake for 25-30 minutes (note: I baked for 25 minutes in a convection oven, so I’d do a bit longer in a normal one – try 30 and see where that gets you).  These are really moist and I was worried they weren’t done all the way because the bottoms felt mushy when I took them out of the oven (see above: banana chunks settle to the bottom of the muffins), but they were done.  And so good.
    § One Response to Banana chocolate chunk walnut muffins

    Leave a Reply

        What’s this?

    You are currently reading Banana chocolate chunk walnut muffins at we cook and drink together..

    meta

