Mini white chocolate and raspberry cheesecakes with dark chocolate sauce

February 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

Hey! I remembered how to use the internet!  Actually, I was just waiting until I found a recipe worthy of a first post.  This creamy, chocolatey, cookie goodness fits the bill.  I chose to make this to bring to a dinner party because 1) I don’t have a springform pan, 2) I had a cupcake tin, and 3) I don’t like buying things (like spring form pans) when I’m poor.

I first had this on Christmas day, in full-size cheesecake form, when my aunt made it for dessert.  Not being a fan of white chocolate (dare I say I hate it?), I was prepared to have to set my fork down after one polite bite.  Wow did THAT not happen!  This no-bake cheesecake was amazing, bite after bite after second piece after bite.  The white chocolate mellows the tartness of the cream cheese and the marscapone (my aunt’s genius change to the recipe) makes it decadent with a big fat(ty) D.  The dark chocolate sauce (me and my mom’s contribution to the recipe) ties it all together beautifully, but I know for a fact that raspberry sauce is equally delicious (depends if you want to be ‘healthy’ or not – HA).

This recipe is adapted from goodfoodchannel.co.uk.  That is why it uses grams and other silly measurements.  Please forgive.  Also, I halved the recipe (located here: http://uktv.co.uk/food/recipe/aid/580382) and put it in cupcake tins to make mini cakes.

Ingredients

For the biscuit base

75 g Hobnob biscuits, crushed (I suppose you could also use other digestive cookies, or ginger snaps)

30 g butter, melted

For the filling

200 g white chocolate, broken into pieces

30 g butter

¼ t. vanilla

125 g cream cheese

125 g marscapone cheese

25 g sugar

90 ml whipping cream

handful of raspberries, plus a few more to decorate

Method

1. For the biscuit base: LINE the cupcake tin with paper liners.  Combine the biscuits and butter and then divide evenly between 10 cupcake mold thingies.  Squash the cookie/base flat by pressing a measuring cup into each cup (I found a half cup measure fits nicely).

2. For the filling: microwave the chocolate to melt.  Microwave the butter to melt.  Add them together and stir.  Stir in vanilla.  Allow to cool slightly.  See how not hard this is? It uses microwaves!

3. In another bowl mix together the cream cheese, marscapone cheese, sugar and whipping cream to a smooth consistency.

4. Stir the melted chocolate mixture into the creamy cheesy mixture.

5. Spoon the mixture into each cupcake tin (on top of the biscuit base).  Press one or two raspberries into each cup, or just place one on top.

6.  Place the whole cupcake tin in the fridge to set.  I’ll have you know that because I’m a bad planner, I only had mine in the fridge for 4 hours and this was long enough (the volume of a cupcake is a lot smaller than a giant cheesecake, so they set faster).

7. To serve: peel off paper liners and drizzle with dark chocolate or raspberry sauce.  Maybe even toss some sliced almonds on top if you’re feeling fancy.

Dark chocolate sauce (from epicurious.com)

1/2 cup half and half

1/4 cup sugar

1/8 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1.5 T. unsalted butter

1/2 t. instant espresso powder

1/2 t. vanilla

Combine half and half, sugar, cocoa, butter and espresso powder in heavy small saucepan. Whisk over low heat until sugar dissolves and butter melts. Increase heat to medium and whisk until sauce just begins to simmer. Remove from heat. Mix in vanilla. Cool sauce.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mini white chocolate and raspberry cheesecakes with dark chocolate sauce at we cook and drink together..

meta

